Gale Winds

Windy Nov Sunday 2

We transitioned directly from fall into winter here in New York. My weekday commute this week saw temperatures in the upper twenties at 0630 am and low forties by 5:30pm. I just returned from a very short ride in the upper twenties with gale force winds blowing off the local bay. I was blown sideways a couple of times. I needed, but didn’t have, face protection from the biting winds.

The last few years, the transition from fall weather to winter weather has been getting more abrupt. “Fall” lasts about a week, and then it’s winter.  Likewise, it seems like only four weeks ago the temperatures were summer-like and I was riding in short sleeves and bib shorts. Now I’m shopping for full winter gear.

There was no legitimate reason to be on a bike this morning other than it was calling me. I flatted the rear tire on a club ride last weekend, and the Seven has sat in the garage since and I’ve been riding the CoMotion. I swapped the tires Friday night with the help of my son. The Seven needed to be ridden!

As I prepared breakfast, I realized I had the perfect reason to venture out into the wind: I needed coffee beans. So I rode the short distance to the local book shop cafe, which happens to sell some pretty damn good coffee.

Windy Nov Sunday 1

Why didn’t I do this last weekend for the Coffeeneuring Challenge!?!?!

I’m back in the safety of my home, sheltered from the wind. Hopefully it will subside in time for tomorrow’s commute.

About robertkerner

Educator, registered nurse, attorney, inquisitive mind
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

