Coffeeneuring Kickoff

Image

 

The 2013 Coffeeneuring Challenge began yesterday and I took my first ride this evening. I just missed entering the challenge last year, so I’m determined to complete it this season. You can see the rules on MG’s blog, but the basic premise is to get out and ride your bike to a coffee shop on the weekends.

In a strange twist of fate, I spent my morning in a car driving into Brooklyn to buy my coffee beans. Time constraints did not permit me to make the 62 mile trip by bike. When I got home in the evening, I hopped on the Co-Mo and headed out to the closest coffee shop. I should note-with pride- that I think I’m responsible for the “beans” rule of the competition.

My neighborhood is littered with chain shops such as Starbucks and Dunkin’ Donuts, so I don’t think my entries will be particularly exciting from a coffee standpoint. At least the riding will get me out of the house and moving. This evening’s ride took me 4.2 miles to the local Dunkin’ Donuts and back for some hot tea. I rolled out of the driveway as the sun was going down, so I fired up the lights.

Image

 

The evening air was delightful: 65 degrees with a light breeze. The leaves are beginning to lose their grip on the tree branches. Fall is coming. Pretty soon I’ll need the leg and arm warmers but for tonight, a warm cup of tea was all I needed.

I’m trying to identify coffeeneuring routes suitable for this guy, or his twin sister.

Image

 

Head on over to Chasing Mailboxes and get involved in coffeeneuring.

About robertkerner

Educator, registered nurse, attorney, inquisitive mind
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coffeeneuring Kickoff

  1. MG says:

    I like the over-the-shoulder shot of your Coffeeneuring companion! Glad you will be coffeeneuring and yes, you inspired the Buying Beans Rule.

  2. Pingback: Bloggin’ About Week One Coffeeneuring | chasing mailboxes d.c.

Leave a Reply

