New Years Day

The first ride of the new year found me on the Moots at a local trail. It was just too gloomy and overcast to ride on the road and be surrounded by grey. I was not quite motivated enough to meet the club for a two-hour hammerfest either. The Moots has been sitting, neglected, these past few months so I thought I’d show it some love and get it dirty.

It always amazes me the difference between mountain biking and road biking, at least on Long Island. On the road, I can go for hours at a moderate pace and accomplish some serious mileage.  A climb may take the wind out of me but only temporarily. It’s not terribly hard work. Trail riding, on the other hand, always tuckers me out and with little mileage gained for all the effort. I’m sure it’s a combination of uneven surfaces, steeper climbs and technical terrain. It feels like you’re covering distance but you’re not.

Any time on two wheels is good time. I got about ninety minutes in before having to return for entertainment obligations. And I got to see some brown leaves. Anything except grey is good.

About robertkerner

Educator, registered nurse, attorney, inquisitive mind
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

