I Thought My Workflow Was a Pain…

[vimeo http://vimeo.com/21218217]

 

Sometimes editing video and stills gets on my nerves. I enjoy the creative process and relish the final product but sometimes the individual steps annoy me. For example, waiting for a video sequence to render or an image to upload to the web can make me cranky because I want instantaneous results.

I should stop complaining.

I stumbled across this video on Bill Gentile’s website. Bill is a photojournalist who was among the first to embrace video and now runs workshops on Backpack Journalism. He was one of my instructors when I attended the Travel Channel Academy several years ago. He filmed NY Time photojournalist Tyler Hicks in 2008 as Tyler prepared his day’s work for transmission back to the Times. Watching this, no one who has the luxury of working in a safe environment should ever bitch about render or upload times.

Mr. Hicks was recently released from captivity by Libyan forces that captured him and several other journalists. I’d highly recommend taking a look at his body of work.

About robertkerner

Educator, registered nurse, attorney, inquisitive mind
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

