Peaceful Places

I spent a week in New Orleans in January attending a conference. I’d been feeling physically ill with sinus problems and a little stressed with the usual personal issues, so I snuck off to explore Lafayette Cemetery #1 in the Garden District. I’d packed my 4×5 and a couple of film holders into a knapsack, hoping to take a few pictures.

I spent almost two hours wandering around this peaceful resting place. It was dreadfully overcast with occasional sprinkles in the air; not really a pleasant day for sight-seeing. Nevertheless, I made a few images and, as I was packing up to leave, realized I was being stalked by this cat. Each time I put my head under the dark cloth, the cat would get a little closer until it was about 5 feet away. I swung the camera around, focused quickly on the eyes and tripped the shutter as a little beam of sunlight hit the cat. Probably my fastest large format image ever!

I have to admit I did not see the car headlights in the background as I was composing the shot. Pure luck that they are there and suggest the presence of an even bigger feline in the distance.

I understand why the cat prowls the cemetery. It’s peaceful, quiet, solitary. All the cares of the world drift away there. At least they did for me.

About robertkerner

Educator, registered nurse, attorney, inquisitive mind
This entry was posted in Large Format, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

